Slip on exhaust power comparisons

Viewing 6 posts - 1 through 6 (of 6 total)
  • Author
    TattooRichie
    Participant

Team,

I am wondering and considering replacing the stock slip on for a more robust and powerful system, if such a system exists. I have been building bikes for many years and my experience with slip ons on a 4 stroke bike as a single “upgrade” has not yielded more power on the dunk, just more noise and some bikes I seen less than stock. My 2 stroke builds is a whole other story.

Has anyone here in the forum upgraded their stock muffler with and after market from Coffman, JC, Delkevic etc as a stand alone mod ( i.e. no ECM mods, second muffler or cat removal) and run their bike on a dyno to see results?

Please share any findings  I am running just a k&n filter , rest in stock

Thanks

Tattoo Richie

SvartGuy
    Participant

I found it kinda difficult to unlock power from this bike, K&N, full Leo Vince system with a Power Commander. Recently rode a stock bike, yeah those upgrades give it a little more puff and smooths out the throttle but I dont think its worth the $1000+ To get it there

TattooRichie
    Participant

Thanks for your input. I feel the same way. I think that Husqvarna did a great job on these bikes stock and there really is not a lot of room for more. Other than some cosmetics, it is about all that can be done. I was just wondering. Thanks

BradSpeed
    Participant

What Power commander did you buy? I’ve seen people quoting figures like an additional 5hp from installing the upgraded airbox lid, power Power commander and de-cat. Would you say that’s close to what you’ve experienced? $200 per hp seems a little steep….

Bferrissc
    Participant

The real improvements you can make are in the below 3500rpm space – a 15T front sprocket and fuel dongle makes for a very cheap improvement in tractability at lower speeds.