Reduced-reach stock brake lever

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
    Vanessa
    Participant

*Disclaimer, I am an Automotive Braking Engineer by trade, do not attempt this modification unless you are a competent mechanic with brake system experience because modifying the braking system can cause loss of braking and risk to yourself and others while riding in case anything should go wrong. The below is not a specific guide or recommendation, I am not advocating that anyone else should do this to their bike!

Even though the stock brake lever on my SP401 has an adjustable reach function, I found that it was still a bit too far away from the bars for my small hands/fingers to comfortably grab. I’ve bought those cheap/common aftermarket levers from eBay and suchlike before and found them to be a bit trashy and loose for my liking so I decided to modify the stock lever.

As is usual for me I bought a spare lever in case I messed it up, and also so I could keep riding while experimenting with the lever. The lever has an adjustment dial with 5 settings, with No. 5 bringing the lever closest to the bar. It’s this adjustment mechanism that I needed to modify, but unfortunately the end of the adjuster is peened over (rivetted) in place. Looking at the underside of the lever it’s the rivet-head closest to the outer end of the lever that I drilled out. Apologies that I don’t have many decent photos of this (I forgot to take them) but I only have pics of the end result on the bike.