How to deal with daily use under the rain

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    IssaGold
    Participant

Hey everyone,

I own a 2019 Vitpilen since one year. It’s my first bike ever and I LOVE it. I don’t think I need to explain why since I guess most of you know exactly what I mean. I’m french so sorry if my english isn’t perfect.

For the first few months I used to only take it out the garage to ride on my days off, when the weather was great. As a beginner I didn’t really know how to take care of a motorcycle so I stuck to lubricating the chain and checking the tension. Byke is only 5000 kms so no worries yet.

MY ISSUE: I had to move out to another city a month ago because of work. Unfortunately I don’t have a garage here. I bought a great cover/protection but is that enough? It’s really rainy out here, like 4-5 days a week.

Also, I now have to ride it everyday to go to work. Sadly I can’t park it inside at work either.

TO SUMM UP: I’m wondering if this whole situation and use on a daily under rain is really bad for such a “naked” bike? (with a lot of wires and parts exposed)

If so, what are my options?

Thank you for your time. Would love to get some help here.

V

• This topic was modified 3 weeks, 6 days ago by IssaGold.
    Satur9
    Participant

Nope . You’ll be fine. You might have to lube chain more often. And rinse off road grime. But if won’t affect bike much. However don’t store a wet bike under a cover for long periods. If you ride it often not a problem. But some covers can trap moisture and accelerate rust. ( Mostly on uncoated surfaces like rotors and bolts).

Vanessa
    Participant