Hello From Cali – Bay Area

Viewing 9 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Hi everyone, I have been riding a HD 2009 dyna for the past ten years and recently moved to the Bay Area. I am thinking of getting the 401 as a commuter bike to help me split lanes and etc. My Harley does fine but sometimes it is to heavy to move around. I am 6’4 and weight about 200 lbs.

i have been reading about the bike for the past couple of weeks and I would like to go and test ride one here in the area. I hope I can find a dealer that would let me do that. My main concern is the power as I want to make sure that I am able to accelerate well when needed.

anything super important I should know? I read about maintenance and etc. If I do get the bike I would plan to get a louder exhaust.

looking forward to hearing your comments and potentially being part of this community b

Participant

Power will be fine but you’re going to look like a circus bear on a mini bike (if that matters). 701 might be a better choice as I believe it’s only about 25 lbs heavier.

Participant

yup, I’m 5′-7″ and the 401 is perfect for me.

aidensfaidensf
    Participant

I ride a 401 in the Bay Area (mostly in SF), 5’7” 150lb and it’s ideal. City-limits acceleration is likely to be no problem; even with 50lbs more I would assume you’re still gonna get up to 35/40mph in about 4 or 5 seconds and that’s going to put you ahead of all the traffic at light (including the idiots on Scoots who don’t seem to have bothered learning anything about staying safe on two wheels).