General Braking Question and ABS

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    LifeCycle
    Participant

I supposed this could be applied to any motorcycle with ABS but specifically the Vitpilen 401 for this one. I’m new to motorcycles and haven’t used the front brake as much as I probably should. I am slowly learning to use it more but I have a fear of being thrown over the top and it doing an endo if I grab too much brake. Is that even possible on this bike? Does ABS have any affect on that? I wouldn’t think so but I don’t know much about this stuff yet. I do have to say, it has amazing brakes… So good that you really need to brace yourself to slow down with it!

Thanks!

rlarue
    Participant

Hi LifeCycle, there’s a few things to unpack here.

First, there’s really two main types of accidents that can occur in regard to tires and traction and neither of those is an endo. An endo is basically a reverse wheelie, a stunt move that you’ll eventually see some sport riders try to pull in traffic and wreck their bike, but it’s not a common accident. You see endo accidents on bicycles because a bicycle is light and weighs less than the rider, so at a sudden stop the rear wheel lifts up and the inertia of the rider tosses them end over.

The 1st accident is called a lowside and if you’re wearing proper gear it’s probably not going to be that bad, unless you like slide off a cliff or something. Lowsides can happen if you take a turn too fast and your tire slides out from under you, and you and the bike end up sliding on the road. It can also happen when using the front brake, which is where ABS comes in. This happens when slamming on the front brake which can cause your tire to lock up, and that is what ABS keeps from happening. It’s really handy for common traffic type scenarios, like cars pulling out in front of you. The ABS releases the right amount of brake to keep the tire from locking up so you stay upright instead of sliding.