Competition Werkes Chamber Delete: 2020 Svartpilen 401

Viewing 7 posts - 1 through 7 (of 7 total)
  • Author
    DeweyDewey
    Participant

Completed the Competition Werkes (CW) Chamber Delete on my Svartpilen 401 this weekend.

It is a moderate level modification as you need to remove the entire exhaust system (header, muffler chamber and canister) as well as the skid plates which Husky calls a spoiler.

NOTE: I have the Akrapovic slip-on exhaust  mod.  It looks great, sounds better but I wanted more sound.

I’m not a mechanic by any means, but have completed many moderate level modifications on motorcycles and Jeeps.

The instructions are minimal from CW, but as expected for an aftermarket purchase.  Also, this is a newer part so no YouTube videos to use either.  So, as a novice mechanic I supplemented information with the Husky Svartpilen 401 user manual.  Also, that way, you have the torque settings after reassembly.

Project Pic

(The tarp is on top of blankets.  Heated garage, but still a frozen floor in MN)

The most challenging part was the final step to remove the actual muffler chamber.  The bolt “tube” was flush with the frame mounts so I had to slightly bend the frame mount, pop the muffler chamber with a hammer and…

Say NO to muff chambers

The installed CW Chamber Delete

The Void

When reassembling, make sure to keep the entire exhaust system “loose” until you get the exhaust system and the skid plates reassembled…then tighten everything. I had to readjust as the header pipe as it was fighting with the skid plates.

How does it sound?  It sounds more like a thumper!  (Video soon after figure out the logistics for this forum)

I will be able to ride the Svartpilen mid-March so I’ll have a better idea of the new sound.  The next mod would be more permanent as it’s removing the db killer in the Akrapovic.

More to come…

• This topic was modified 1 month, 2 weeks ago by DeweyDewey.
    • This topic was modified 1 month, 2 weeks ago by Avatarphishbed.