701 vibration concern from a speculator

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Hi

You 701 owners likely get many questions from people interested in this bike but please have patience with another one.

Having read up on failing clutch cylinders, tank leaks and watched every youtube out there on the 701, my main remaining worry prior to driving quite far with a trailer to possibly pick one up – are the thumper vibrations. How bad are they?

And as this is a very subjective matter: my background as a motorcyclist to give a hint of my perspective.

2003-2008 cbr600rr

2008-2015 another cbr600rr that served as a dedicated trackbike.

2012-2015 yzf250f dirtbike

2015 til now, no bike, just two wild kids.

So, apart from the yzf250 I have no experience with vibrating bikes or large displacement-anything other than inline fours. However I don’t want an inline four now, want something with plenty more character and I didn’t mind the yzf vibrations at all. But that was just a 250cc and this will be a 690cc thumper. So when below those 3000rpm’s. Can I expect hands going numb and teeth rattling if stuck in traffic?

Bike will be used for a 20 minute mixed highway/city commute to work. No touring and too old for the track.

If any 701 owner can give me their comparison between the 701 and a 250 dirtbike regarding vibrations, I think I’ll have a much clearer picture as to what I can expect.

Cheers
    Radek J

Participant

I have the 701 Vit and now a Ktm TPi 300 2020.

I still have for sell my ‘old’ Husaberg 300 2t 2013.

701 and enduro’s are two different worlds, you can’t compare.

If you want, the 701 is too much relaxed than 250/300 Enduro.. .. Only if you want.

On highways at constant rev, or driving softly, the vibrations of 701 Vitpilen they are notorious, and it’s not confortable for more than an hour.

I have had a 990 superduke and it’s more confortable than Vit, but it’s hevier, and for city use is not better than Vit.